Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Users bypassing group policy restrictions

Hi There,

I work in a school where we have a network consisting of Windows Server 2003 domain controllers and member servers. The workstations are all Windows XP. Unfortunately as a department we are under trained for the jobs we do so i'm sorry if i'm missing something blatantly obvious but if a user logs onto one of our workstations and unplugs the network cable the second his password is authenticated he manages to succesfully log into windows without any of our group policy settings taking effect. Although most network resources are properly locked down by means of permissions this still gives the user a certain amount of freedom on the local machine that we definetly don't want. Is there anywhere in group policy where i can force the settings always to take affect? Alternatviely are there any third party tools or anything to stop this?

Regards

Jon

Re: Users bypassing group policy restrictions

I answered a questions similiar to this a few months back. If you're using roaming profiles this is an option.

http://forums.petri.com/showthread.php?t=6027
    Andrew

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

Comment

Hi there,

Thanks very much for your suggestion. Unfortunately we don't use roaming profiles, not even mandatory profiles. I don't suppose if we did implement mandatory profiles that that same policy setting would work?

Regards

Jon

Comment

Hello,
        Group policies are applied in the following order: local GP, Site GP, Domain GP and all OU levels GP. By default each one can be over written be the GP from the next levels.
        The local GP is not depending on the network connection, so here you can configure a basic security. Add other settings to the Domain or OU levels GPs.

Regards,
        Csaba
        Regards,
        Csaba Papp
        MCSA+messaging, MCSE, CCNA