GPO vs Local Policy

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GPO vs Local Policy

I have a windows xp machine that the local user (who is a local admin) set the desktop wallpaper via gpedit.msc. The setting was gpedit.msc then User Config/Administrative Templates/Desktop/Active Directory/Active Desktop Wallpaper Enabled and set to a standard windows picture (Tulips.jpg) so no big deal.

HOWEVER, when I log in as a local admin I have a domain level GPO that sets the background/wallpaper on my login to BGInfo so that I can see certain information about the computer, etc.

When I log in on this machine (and I have duplicated this on other machines) the local policy OVERRIDES the domain policy, even if the domain policy is set to Enforced (No Override).

Can anyone give me an idea as to why this is? This really bothers me since it looks as if the local policy is given precedent to the domain group policy, even though I was taught and everything that I have read says otherwise. Anyone? I am a little mind boggled at this.

Thanks!
    Two things:
    1) If I wrote something wrong please please please let me know. I want to know ESPECIALLY if I am wrong.
    2) I have a tendency to write things that are misconstrued as being agressive or not so pleasant. That is not my intent.

Re: GPO vs Local Policy

Strange one. What does gpresult /v gpo.txt show you or RsOP in logging mode using GPMC?

Comment

Try researching the option of 'loopback processing' in GPOs. Basically what happens is: normally, a policy that's applied first (local) will have it's settings overwritten by a higher policy from the domain tree (site, then domain, then the levels of OU down to the object's location.) With loopback processing, after all that processing is done, a local policy can be re-enforced and either replacing any/all previous settings or merging with the previous settings.