Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Create "Delete IE History" Policy only for certain users?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Create "Delete IE History" Policy only for certain users?

Hi all,

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm no GPO expert. Windows Server 2008 R2 Active Directory domain at work...

I need to create a Group Policy that will delete the IE history upon exit, but I need it to only apply to certain users, not every domain user. Can this be done, and if so, could you please tell me how?

Thanks!

Chris

Re: Create "Delete IE History" Policy only for certain users?

Preferred option:
    Move the users to an OU (or multiple OUs) and apply the policy at OU level

Alternative option:
    Use security filtering to apply the policy to a group containing the users
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Hi Tom!

Sorry, but I guess my question actually relates to...

"apply the policy at OU level"
      and
      "apply the policy to a group containing the users "
      I don't know HOW to do those things in GP Management.

Thanks!

Chris

** EDIT ** Nevermind! I figured out your Alternative Option. Thanks! One final question. Is this Alternative Option somehow less desirable a way to do it? Could you elaborate for my own education, please?
      Last edited by WorldBuilder; 21st November 2010, 23:09.

Comment

Policies are linked to a particular level in the organisational unit hierarchy -- you can (in Group Policy Management Console) right click on an OU and "create and link" a policy, so it applied only to that OU and those below it.

You then put the users you want the policy to apply to (and only those users) in the OU