Limit Software Installation for End Users

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Limit Software Installation for End Users

Pre Question statement: Most, if not every single one, of the users at all of my clients are local admins on their computers.

I want to see if I can limit the ability of the end users to install software. I know this can be done a myriad of ways, the easiest and most common is to dump all of the users out of the "Local Admin" group on their computers and put them in a power user type role.

But, say we don't do that.. Say we want to keep those users as local admins... My job gets a little tougher.

I know I can restrict software installation via GPO using things like AppLocker and editing the security levels in Software Restriction Policies.

I've never done that before so I'm not 100% sure it's going to work as I am planning. Some of the questions I have...

1) If I use Software Restriction Policies, should I use Computer or User based policies?
    2) Is AppLocker worth setting up? I've never used it.
    3) Should I create an OU specific GPO for software restrictions or use the default domain policy, I'm still a little hazy as to whether or not OU overrides default domain...

Again, and as always, any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated!
    I'd rather check my Facebook than face my checkbook...

Thanks,
    Todd

Get the users out of the admins group!!! I don't even run my own computers as an admin user. If I need to do an admin task, I use an admin account for that. The risks to too great and the protection you get from exploits outweighs the headaches IMO. You will mitigate so much just by doing this one best practice.
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

I know, I know! everywhere I've worked, except one place, has had all users as local admins...