Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mapping drives automatically to different servers.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mapping drives automatically to different servers.

Is is possible to create a GPO or log in script or something that will map drives depending on what server you log into?

Our small company is quickly growing, we are finishing up the setup for our first remote office. We have 2-2012R2 DCs at the main office and one at the remote office. We have a VPN connection for the servers between the offices. There will be a couple of floater users and a couple of permant users at the remote location. We have files that are modified daily, most are large. Those are going to be setup with DFS. We also have files that are mainly reference files and are mainly viewed rarely modified. I am pretty new to GPOs, I believe I have a basic understanding and have been playing around with some simple ones. I didn't know if there was a way to have it so if a user logs into the main office server it maps the [Jobs] drive to that server, if the user were to go to the remote office and log in the mapped [Jobs] drive will automatically point to that server. This will prevent the user trying to access the large files directly over the VPN and let the DFS handle the changes.

I'm pretty sure this can be done, I'm just sure if it's one of those things where It can be done but it's complicated and probably not worth the trouble. Worst case is that I rename the maps and they will have to make sure they open the right ones for their location.

Thanks for any info.