domain account added to local admins vs domain account

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• domain account added to local admins vs domain account

I have very little AD knowledge and am after a greater understanding of how the following works:

Users in a group require admin rights on a workstation, I have added the domain account to the local admin group on said workstation. However when the workstation is rebooted (group policay applied) the users no longer have local admin rights on the workstation.

Whats even more particular is that the account will resume administrative functionality a day or so later, again when its rebooted or a manual gpupdate is implemented the account resume its limited permissions.

In short although we have added the account to the local admin group on the workstation, would the account created in the active directory and has a particular set of permissions applied take precedents over the locally added domain account?

If so what would be the best course of action?

Re: domain account added to local admins vs domain account

Originally posted by Ades View Post
    Users in a group require admin rights on a workstation, I have added the domain account
    So which is it, a group of users, or a user account?

Originally posted by Ades View Post
    I have added the domain account to the local admin group on said workstation.
    How? Manually? Via a script? Via Group Policy?

in any case, I would argue that no user needs to be a local administrator. If a badly written piece of software doesn't work properly because the user doesn't have access to some part of the filesystem or registry, then grant them write access to that specific resource. Then go and yell at the developers.
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.