Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GPO newbie, some questions.

Post - GPOs Newbie

So I just started with Group Policy. Iíve enabled a company wide policy, which I applied to the Default Domain Policy GPO.
    Itís pretty basic stuff, a company wallpaper, company screensaver, some IE and Start Menu configurations, Windows Update interval and options, etc.
    The screensaver and wallpaper setting were a bit tricky. I used a batch file at logon to copy the .scr from the server into the System32 directory, otherwise it wouldnít work with the UNC path. For the wallpaper, I didnít want to use Active Desktop, so instead I used a batch file to import a reg key into the Registry key ďHKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\DesktopĒ and set the wallpaper bitmap.

Users cannot change the wallpaper or the screensaver.
    However, Iíve noticed that even if I log in as an administrator, I canít either. Iím also locked from making changes. So my question is, how can I exclude domain admins from the Default Domain Policy? Or am I doing something wrong to begin with?

Another inquiry is this. I have a few problem users who spent too much time on Windows Live Messenger and some other crap I donít like. Some of them need to be local admin because of some idiotic business applications we have to run, which wonít run otherwise. So I was planning on creating an user group in AD called ďProblem UsersĒ. I would add those users (just 8 or 10) to that group. Then, Iíd create a GPO for that user group alone, and apply all the restrictions there. I believe that will keep the domain admins out, right? Even if the user is a local admin, the GPO should override their privileges, am I correct?

Iíve been reading a lot aboutG Group Policy lately, but I appreciate all the help I can get.

Thanks!

Re: GPO newbie, some questions.

The thing that will solve your issue is GPO filtering.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...91(WS.10).aspx