Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows cannot access the file gpt.ini Group Policy Problem

Hi all,

I am new to petri. I am currently having problems pushing group policies over to client computers.

I have encountered these errors

Windows cannot access the file gpt.ini for GPO CN={31B2F340-016D-11D2-945F-00C04FB984F9},CN=Policies,CN=System,DC=domain,DC=c om. The file must be present at the location <\\domain\sysvol\domain\Policies\{31B2F340-016D-11D2-945F-00C04FB984F9}\gpt.ini>. (The system cannot find the path specified. ). Group Policy processing aborted.

I am able to access both netlogon and sysvol shares from client computers.

One thing I noticed when looking in the policies folder is that the folder {31B2F340-016D-11D2-945F-00C04FB984F9} keeps changing to {31B2F340-016D-11D2-945F-00C04FB984F9}_NTFRS_45c0560b.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Re: Windows cannot access the file gpt.ini Group Policy Problem

Hi,
    Are you getting any 1054 events? Any other events as well?
    Can you post a ipconfig /all of your DC and a client?
    Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR

Comment

What OS and ServicePack level is on the clients and on the servers?

Any 'File Replication service (FRS)' events shown in the eventlog on the DC?
      Can you give the IDs and SOurces of these or possibly of other error events. Also of those that are found in the eventlog on the clients.

Originally posted by vtx624 View Post
      One thing I noticed when looking in the policies folder is that the folder {31B2F340-016D-11D2-945F-00C04FB984F9} keeps changing to {31B2F340-016D-11D2-945F-00C04FB984F9}_NTFRS_45c0560b.
      Have a look at this KB article: http://support.microsoft.com/?id=328492

\Rems

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

** Remember to give credit where credit's due **