Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Outlook Email Receiving only with Outgoing SMTP IP address instead of domain URL

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Outlook Email Receiving only with Outgoing SMTP IP address instead of domain URL

I am new in domain system, i set up domain controller myself at my office, every thing was working fine, but after 3 or 4 days outlook was unable to receive email on client machines. the only way i find was to enter ip address of my domain (i have purchased and hosted from third party) in outgoing SMTP Server address. emails are receiving well without ip but only error is at receiving.
    i dont know where i am wrong. this is annoying too much.
    plzzz rsolve my issue.

Thanks in advance

Re: Outlook Email Receiving only with Outgoing SMTP IP address instead of domain URL

Can you explain how your active directory domain is set up and how your clients get email, please?
    A recent poll suggests that 6 out of 7 dwarfs are not happy

Comment

Re: Outlook Email Receiving only with Outgoing SMTP IP address instead of domain URL

i have domain controller at my location, where as email server is from third party, we configure outlook client emails.
      mail is being received at client pcs also, but problem is at sending part.
      when i put ip of my mail server then it works well, but when smtp url is entred then it stops sending mails.

Comment

Presumably you are using Windows DNS?
        Check the 3rd Party Mail Server (btw, what is it?) is registered in DNS correctly
        Tom Jones
        MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
        PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
        IT Trainer / Consultant
        Ossian Ltd
        Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment