Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using an External HDD to store Roaming profiles

Hello all,

I am a newbie to the forum and would like to ask for some expert help please if I could.

I have a Windows Server 2008 machine setup and running with Active Directory installed and fully functional and two machines as clients. The clients are both Windows 7 Pro.

My HP DL360 g4 server has not got very big HDD's so I purchased a 250gb USB external HDD.

I am running my simple file shares from this drive successfully although when I use this drive to store user profiles, I am logged on with a temporary profile. I tried storing my profile on the C: drive and it worked fine..

I am really frustrated at the moment and really need help!! Any would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advanced!

Re: Using an External HDD to store Roaming profiles

Are these the server profiles or the client profiles being stored?

How are you implementing the roaming profiles?

Is the C drive you refer to on the client or on the server?

Have you tried folder re-directions to the USB drive?
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Hello Ossian,

Thanks for the reply.

I am tring to store the server profiles. I have setup Roaming profiles in Active Directory Users and Computers under the profile tab on User Properties in AD.

The C Drive is the Boot drive on the actual server, with the operating system files etc.

I don't understand what you mean by redirecting to the USB. Should I set up the main user home on the boot drive and enable folder redirections thorugh GPO to point to a shared folder on the External USB?

Thanks

Comment

Hi Davik