No announcement yet.

Introduction and cry for help

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction and cry for help

I'm an IT technician, working in the UK. I have worked in iT for the past 8 years, but am struggling with certain issues and would like some help if possible.

There is a position in my department which is a middle management, which I have applied for twice and been unsuccessful. This is really frustrating for me as I have been working in the industry for so long and should know how to do what is required to get through the interview process.

The bit that I struggle with is setting up a server and active directory in particular from scratch. I already know how to administer it all as I do that on a daily basis with adding users and setting up groups etc, but I've never had the chance to learn or to install a server and the services from scratch and that is the hurdle that I fall at when I go for interview. I thought I was more prepared for my interview yesterday, but unfortunately not.

As the department is so busy, the generic response i get when I ask if someone will help me is 'make a note, and I'll show you later' and later never comes. I am sure you will understand my frustration, and hopefully someone will be able to help.

Is there a Microsoft course that I can go through to learn this? I don't even know where to start looking. I don't care about doing an exam, or getting the certification at the end, but I just want something that I can work through and learn these skills. If anyone could give details of the course that they did to learn about active directory, I'd be really grateful. Hopefully then, I'll stand more chance of getting through when another job opportunity comes up.

I have a degree in IT (2010), but this was full time whilst I was working full time too. It was distance learning, and I think I may have missed out on a lot of hands-on stuff there.

Re: Introduction and cry for help