No announcement yet.

Multiple AD Forests Merge / Migration

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multiple AD Forests Merge / Migration

Hello! (deep breath)

Firstly, let me say I am really just looking for general pointers and discussion here, not anything in depth.

I work in IT for a company which has over the last few years bought other businesses (6 in total). This has resulted in several separate AD forests of varying MS server versions. We are currently looking into implementing a single AD domain to service the whole "group" of companies.

Some facts:

In total, we have about 100 Domain PCs / Users.

On the whole, things are setup pretty basic i.e. no great use of GP, no DFS, very basic account groupings etc.

4 sites or LANs. These sites can currently be looked at as 2 sites joined together by a WAN link (letís say site group A) and another 2 sites linked by a WAN link (site group B). The 2 sets of 2 are not joined at all. Going forward, there will be reliable WAN links between all sites, bandwidth still to be decided.

Site group A is home to 4 AD forests (all Server 2003). 3 of these are "organisational" forests (regular user accounts, shares, printers, SQL databases etc.) and the 4th is a "resource" forest which serves email (exchange 2007) to the users in the other 3 domains.

Site group B has 2 domains. 1 domain is served by NT4 (honest) and the other 2003. The 2003 domain also has Exchange 2003 serving mailboxes to the users in the NT4 domain.