Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AD LDAP Custom Query

Hi,

Im a little new to the LDAP query thing but I usually figure it out but I cant figure this one out.
    We are on Exchange Server 07 and Im trying to do a custom saved query in active directory for the user description and display name fields.
    Now I know you can do searches for that field but i need to do a specific search in those field containing a certain 1 or 2 words. i cant use the default searches of starts with or ends with or present because it will not give me what i want. i need a search that CONTAINS these words.
    I dont care if I have to do 2 separate queries for those 2 fields.

Many Thanks in advance.

Re: AD LDAP Custom Query

From the first page of the Saved Query copy the current LDAP string you have so far.
    Change the query to "Custom Search". On the 'advanced' tap paste the string. Customize the string.

Sample ( description <contains "..."> or displayName <contains "..."> )
    Code:
    (&(objectCategory=person)(objectClass=user)(|(description=*part*)(displayName=*part*)))
    OR... ( description <contains "..."> and displayName <contains "..."> )
    Code:
    (&(objectCategory=person)(objectClass=user)(description=*part*)(displayName=*part*))

/Rems
    Last edited by Rems; 4th April 2012, 18:03.

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

** Remember to give credit where credit's due **
    and leave Reputation Points for meaningful posts

Comment

Originally posted by Rems View Post
      From the first page of the Saved Query copy the current LDAP string you have so far.
      Change the query to "Custom Search". On the 'advanced' tap paste the string. Customize the string.

Sample ( description <contains "..."> or displayName <contains "..."> )
      Code:
      (&(objectCategory=person)(objectClass=user)(|(description=*part*)(displayName=*part*)))