AD Dupe Subnet and Repair

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AD Dupe Subnet and Repair

Good evening I have finally run out of places to look or I am not fitting the puzzle pieces together correctly.

Senario: Okay I am trying to repair a really screwed up AD forest which anyone in their right mind would say drop the DC and make a new on from scrath thats how bad it is. Do to it beeing a ticking timebomb I do not want to resurect AD in production but rather create a new subnet spin up a new DC clone the current DC then break the trusts so nobody authenticates to it with the exception of a few who are beeing subjected to a test group.

With that beeing said I have never done this before and are semi lost when I say semi lost I men I understand the scope of what needs to be done I believe. Anyhow my questions are as fallows.

1. Can the test group users still access objects (file shares, and other objects) from the old subnet but reside on the new subnet I was thinking sites and services may be of some help but I do not know.

2. I do not want Replication to the PDC from the new Subnet DC all I want the new DC to do is talk to is a select group of people (GPO Security groups and distribution groups.) However retain all Users / Computers etc. (Is this Possible)

Thank you for your input

Re: AD Dupe Subnet and Repair

Ok, You need to ellaborate further what you like to achive
    From you writing I belive, you like to create a new DC / domain and then move all your old AD accounts to new one and then decomission your old domain and DC. During this phase all new AD object in your new domain can access resources in your old domain.
    Is that you after?

Comment

One more thing how did you realized your existing AD is in devastate condition. I found its more easier and time effective to revamp existing structure rather than buiding a new one.

Comment

Can you tell us more about how "screwed up" it is?
        Tom Jones