help me to upgrade the my AD

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help me to upgrade the my AD

i am running AD on windows 2000 server till now now i want to make a new AD server in 2008, now i need your help in upgrade process. i also want to know whether i have to join all my client to new domain again ,wht are the pre-instaltion things that i should take care before doing any upgrade,

kindly tell me the complete process bceause i have very little knowledge

is these are right steps or i am missing some thiing?

I am already using a windows 2000 ad server ,now i am creating a new ad server on server 2008 32 bit and after that i will discard my 2000 AD server ,i will perform these steps tell me if i am wrong or i need to add more thing

1 install 2008 on new server
    2 give ip address and point to exiting DNS server,
    3 run ADPREP on windows 2000 to raise the forest functional level
    4 run the DC promo command
    5 do the manual replication
    6 move the FSMO roles
    7 the install DNS on new server and the remove the old 2000 server

plz let me know is this right process or i have to do some thing else ,

Comment

Re: help me to upgrade the my AD

Is this an entirely new domain or a new DC for your existing domain, then retire the existing DC?

If the first, do some research on ADMT (AD Migration toolkit).
      If the second, you will need to upgrade the AD schema and then join the new DC to the existing domain.

Consider some consultancy as the process can be complex if you are not experienced.
      Tom Jones
      MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
      PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
      IT Trainer / Consultant
      Ossian Ltd
      Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Re: is these are right steps or i am missing some thiing?

Merged with other thread