Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Reset compyter account

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Reset compyter account

    Hi,


    As this is my first post, hello to everyone first.

    I've got question regarding "Reset Account" functionality. I understand that this function resets secure connection between computer and domain, in case this connection is broken. I just cannot understand, why cannot you just rejoin computer do the domain, without deleting computer object from AD. Isn't that the same result ? You need to rejoin computer after reseting account anyway (at least when using ADUC MMC).


    Regards,
    Mariusz

  • #2
    Re: Reset compyter account

    no reason you can't depart and rejoin the domain. you would need to delete the object though before joiining, it it wasn't deleted by itself.
    because obviously, you cannot join an object when that object already esxists

    I tend to do this rather than messin around with "reset" anyway.
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Reset compyter account

      Originally posted by tehcamel View Post
      no reason you can't depart and rejoin the domain. you would need to delete the object though before joiining, it it wasn't deleted by itself.
      because obviously, you cannot join an object when that object already esxists

      I tend to do this rather than messin around with "reset" anyway.
      You can join a machine to a domain when it already exists, we do it all the time when we rebuild computers. We never usually bother deleting the existing computer account, just rebuild it with the same name and join it to the domain again and it will just update the existing computer account in AD. If you remove the machine from the domain first then it just leaves the computer account disabled, not deleted, so even when you just drop a machine out of the domain and join it straight back again you are actually just using the same computer account that already exists in AD.
      I know there are some situations where you can't do this and you get an error telling you that the account already exists, but I'll be honest I don't know what it is that makes this happen in some scenarios and not others.

      But back to the original question - I think you are correct in saying that removing the machine from the domain and then re-adding it will probably have the same result. I believe in both cases the password for the secure computer to domain link should get recreated and be the same on both the PC and the domain.
      Last edited by chris128; 12th May 2011, 13:03.
      Software for IT Pros that I've written: http://www.cjwdev.co.uk/Software.html

      My blog: http://cjwdev.wordpress.com

      Comment

      Working...
      X