Deploying Realvnc In An Ad Environment

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deploying Realvnc In An Ad Environment

I am an IT Tech for a company that has a Windows 2000 active directory based network. I was tasked to deploy REALVNC 4.1.7 (a remote administration software) to all PCs on the network. My IT manager wants it deployed by OUs (Organizational Units) but I don't think it's possible. The Deployment tool provided by REALVNC server software only gives me the option of deploying by "Network Neighborhood", Entire Network, or by IP range.

Has anyone deployed REALVNC in an AD environment? If so, how did you do it? And is there a way to deploy REALVNC by OUs??

Any help would be appreciated. thanks!

ANTONIO

Re: Deploying Realvnc In An Ad Environment

Sunds like you need to repackage it as an MSI. That the only format that you can publish with a GPO.

Comment

I have never packaged a software as a MSI. How involve is the process? Can you steer me in the right direction? Thanks for all your help

Comment

Most softwares can be re-packaged as MSI, question is how complex is their installation. For simple software that only add files in the Program Files folder, some DLLs and some registry changes - you can use WININSTALL LE from Veritas, found on the installation CD of W2K. They have a newer version available to d/l from their site somewhere.

If the project is more complicated you'll need to re-package the software, and for that you can get the full-featured WININSTALL (or any other similar tool), and that will let you configure more options, but will also require more knowledge on your hand.
        Cheers,

Daniel Petri
        Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Active Directory Directory Services
        MCSA/E, MCTS, MCITP, MCT

Comment

thanks for all the help guys. I will research this more.

Comment

Originally posted by danielp View Post