No announcement yet.

dsquery or adfind (query building)

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dsquery or adfind (query building)

First of all i would like to say that i hope all of you had an awsome holiday! I am new here and hope to keep coming back, used to roam the old sysop forums for a very long time. Anywho!

I am trying to grab some information from AD using both dsquery and or adfind. We are running windows 2003 in our environment and im a little new to actually having to pull info from it, other than resetting passwords for end users.

I would like to pull any and all users from AD. I am then going to sift through this list for anything matching a certain keyword and port the results out to a text file.. Some OU's in our structure are named after managers and under each Manager named OU are all the people in thier group. As an example:
    import os
    def main():
        query = os.popen('dsquery user -name a* -limit 10 |dsget user -display -samid -dn')
        x =
        for agent in 'TSE':
            if agent in x:
                print '%s\n' % x
    So what this script will do is based off words in the OU name, either print out the -display and -samid or just ignore(pass) if it doesnt find the keyword in the OU name. Is there a better way of doing this? Im having to put "-dn" in the search for dsquery and this is really messing with output formating.

Is there possibly a way to pull and and all OU's matching this same keyword type filter? maybe something like this

the mock OU name is something like: "Im In The TSE Group"

dsquery -OU "*TSE*" | dsget user -name -display -samid

That way i can pull all of ad and sift through it and take what i need.

by the way, the script above is python

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by omfg; 2nd January 2011, 21:15.

Re: dsquery or adfind (query building)

Well, just updating my thoughts on this a little more.

I can sort or filter by description also, so was hoping: