Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Piping dsget w/adfind?

Hi everybody, this is what I'm triying to do:

I have a list of users (users.txt) and this is what I've done in the past to get what groups each user belongs to:

for /f %i in (users.txt) do @ dsquery user -name %i | dsget user -memberof >> %i.txt

Well, now I have this issue:

I want to do the same, but filter the results, I only want to get the groups that end with... "AAA" for example, not all of them.

Dsget doesn't support -filter so I though using adfind would be a good idea. The bad thing is that I've never used it before and I'm going crazy trying to understand it.

-

The job that needs to be done is: from a list of users, get all the groups that end with "AAA", and add the users to the identical groups but ending with "BBB", and delete those users from the same groups ending with "CCC". Tricky?

Example:

User "John" is member of BlueAAA, RedAAA, GreenAAA.

What needs to be done:

Add John to BlueBBB, RedBBB, and GreenBBB
    Remove John from BlueCCC, RedCCC, and GreenCCC.

I can do that manually but if I could get the list of the "AAA"'s groups each user belongs to it would be easier I think. I'm not a scripting god =(

Update- I can only use "dstools" / adfind or vbs scripting. No powershell.

Thank you!
    Last edited by jaunis; 14th December 2010, 19:10.

Re: Piping dsget w/adfind?

It's not exactly whaat you want

but Powershell can do -filter....

so if you could call Powershell, and make it do the dsquery (or perhaps use questAD tools) then you could filter the output from there maybe ?
    Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Originally posted by tehcamel View Post
      It's not exactly whaat you want

but Powershell can do -filter....