Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Active Directory & Outlook 2010 Client

Hello there all,

I am trying to learn how to configure a system where, when a user logs in through active directory they will have all their emails and signatures loaded in the outlook 2010 client!

There is only one thing I can see being a problem and that is that the mailboxes are 50GB each, although we only employ around 15 people, who would be logging on to the server daily and usually they will stay on the same machine.

We do not host our own exchange server and I am not entirely sure if this is possible without hosting our own!

I spent a lot of time looking through various search engines and couldn't manage to find anything other than, "Outlook web app to access exchange server" but we would prefer to use the outlook client as we have paid for the license!

Thanks in advance for any help, I'm new to active directory!
    Dan

Where is the email stored - Office 365 or some 3rd party mail server?
    If you use Office 365 it should be possible
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

It is stored on a 3rd party mail server and we dont use office 365 but we could convert if it was possible in the actual outlook client!

Comment

You will need to speak to your mail provider, but it is most likely they are offering POP3 or IMAP email and unlikely you could get single sign on working OK
        Consider moving to Office 365 - MS would love to take your money!
        Tom Jones
        MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
        PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
        IT Trainer / Consultant
        Ossian Ltd