Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to overwrite Global AD Profile using local login script

Hi all,

It is my first time here and I think this forum is very good with lots of useful information.

First of all, I would like to explain the situation me and my team is suffering.

I work for a reasonably big company and our IS dept decided to switch everyone to AD.

When they switch everyone to AD, they didn't bother to check the services required by my team. The minimum we need is IIS, SNMP and WWW in order to run the admin tools required for telephone switches.

By disabling them in the global profile, I can't use Net Start to start these services. The only thing we can do is to go to services and set them to automatic/manual and use a Net Start bat file I created for them.

I tried a few things including modifying the registry but the global profile will disable them when the screensaver kicks in, or some random time period.

I would like to know whether there are any ways I can get around this. My IS dept is extremely unhelpful and refuses to create a new group with the correct services for my guys.

I don't know and don't want to hack the system. All I need is something that can either overwrites the global profile during logon or a way to block the global profile from getting to my computer so that my registry modification will stay.

Sorry for the long question and thanks very much for your help.

Re: How to overwrite Global AD Profile using local login script

this sounds a little shady but o well. as i understand it group policy is being pushed down to stop you from running services?. if thats the case since you have a way to modify the registry you could try to deny everyone write permission to those keys after you change it. if that doesn't work your gonna have to get your IS to not give you that group policy. maby talk to your manager or their manager.
    MCSE 2000\2003, A+
    00000001-00000011-00000011-00000111

Comment