Compress redirected folders

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compress redirected folders

My company is currently in the user acceptance phase of AD rollout. The VP of IT has posed the issue of the redirected user data, (My Documents), being on the server uncompressed. I have searched and I can not seem to find anyone who has succesfully been able to compress the redirected folders and have offline files sync correctly. Personally, I don not see the benifit of compressing the data, but I am just a lowly sys admin so I must research things fully and be able to provide a clear answer to upper management, .

Does anyone know if this is possible?

P.S.

Our redirected user data resides on a linux samba share that authenticates through AD

Re: Compress redirected folders

No idea about Samba -- in Windows I think it can compress OK

But in general, drives are so cheap, and the processor overhead of compressing / decompressing is so high, that why bother?
    (OK, we won't go the way of one user who thought that by alternating Zipping and RARing, he could get a file down to 1 byte in size )
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

What is the VP's objective for wanting the data compressed?

Comment

14th May 2009 15:44 joeqwerty Re: Compress redirected folders
        What is the VP's objective for wanting the data compressed?
        I really have no clue, and for that matter I don't think that he does either. Perhaps disk purchase issues.