Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Synching with AD between states.

Hi Everyone,

I have read some answers here, but I'm still a bit confused. I read to setup VPN's across multiple sites, install a member server w/o dcpromo and it will automatically synch with the AD server in the midwest?

Basically, I am doing this so users in the Calif office can log into the secondary AD server if the main one goes down in the midwest, but also I think it would speed up the logins instead of autheticating with the AD server in the midwest. How can I set this up?

Here is what I need to do.
    1. Setup server in Calif (do I install as a member server?)
    2. I need it to synch with AD server in the midwest (synch happens automatically? if so, what about the bandwidth problems? I know you can change it manually)
    3. If someone has a manual or instructions on how to do this. I am a newbie and would like some help....very much appreciated.

Re: Synching with AD between states.

Once your site-to-site VPN has been setup, providing you can ping computers in each site's subnet, connectivity should be ok. As you say, connectivity will also depend on the bandwidth. It also depends on the services used at the other site with regards to whether you disable GC lookup for Universal Groups, use Global caching or install the DC as a Gloabal Catalog.

To create the sites, you would configure AD Sites and Services and associate each site's DC with its subnet.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc730868.aspx

What services or servers are used? Any Exchange etc? What AD version do you have? There is the possibility of using a system state backup to install the 2nd DC in Windows 2003. This will minimise any issues on the site-to-site VPN's bandwidth should you use the traditional method of DCPROMO on the new server where the site-to-site VPN would replicate AD in its entirity.

http://www.petri.com/install_dc_from...erver_2003.htm