Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Help on moving users from one DC to another.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help on moving users from one DC to another.

Hi,

I'm new to AD and this is my first task. Please help.

Senario is like this:

There is an application which is going thro' an upgrade process. Once this application is upgraded, they want only the users accessing this application to be on the new AD and not the existing AD. Could you please let me know how to go about this.

Let me know if my understanding is right.

1. Promote the new server (supposedly this will be same as the existing one, probably MS Server2000) as DC within the same domain.
    2. Once the replication is done, create a new user group and move all the required users into this.

A. I would like to know if this will work?
    B. What will the difference be?
    c. Will they still have the same passwords, access to services etc?

The more I think about the requirement, the more confusing it gets. Please help.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
    Sandeep

Re: Need Help on moving users from one DC to another.

User accounts in a domain aren't like Exchange mailboxes - they don't 'live' on one server or another. All domain user accounts exist on all domain controllers. Once you add the new DC to the domain, after replication takes place that DC will have a copy of the domain and all user accounts within it.
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Comment

Thanks Gareth. Thats exactly what I thought...