No announcement yet.

System State Restore on a DC

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• System State Restore on a DC

Our DC recently crashed and would not start in the OS. We have system state backups using NTBACKUP in native mode.
    I tried many things in order to correct the booting problem but nothing worked.
    I had no choice but to reinstall Win 2003 STD SP1 (original OS).
    What's the best way to restore our one and only DC (I know it's not good practice)?
    I tried to symply run NTBACKUP restore to original location and it failed. It failed to write some dll files (access denied).
    Now I'm getting a blue screen (Stop error C000021a).
    Do I need to run dcpromo first and then go in to Domain Controller Recovery mode?
    Please help. Our company is riding on this to work. Thanks.

P.S. I'm new to the job and I did not set this up.
    Last edited by shades; 16th February 2009, 16:07.

Re: System State Restore on a DC

It sounds to me that you may have hardware issues with the server or the ntbackup was corrupt.

You have done the right thing. As it is a fresh install and is currently not a DC, you can recover system state by logging on as normal. You then choose the option of 'system state' when attempting the restore.

Have you identified what caused the fault in the first place? Have you scanned the HDD for bad sectors and checked memory etc? Remove 1 stick at a time and test and so on.
    Last edited by Virtual; 16th February 2009, 17:19.

Thanks for the quick response Virtual!

I checked the hardware the first time it blue screened on me. I ran disk check and repair tools. Everything seems fine. There were no added H/W recently. The last thing I remember was running a Windows update (security patch). I've booted with ERD Commander and removed it as part of my troubleshooting. It won't even go in to recovery or safe mode at this point. I'm in the process of reinstalling Win 2003 STD SP1.