No announcement yet.

AD Vulnerabilities

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AD Vulnerabilities

I have just been tasked with developing an audit plan for uncovering or otherwise finding problems associated with our AD enterprise network. My background is more NT related and older security issues. Not knowing where to start, I have been searching the internet and not finding a lot of public information. I can't go to the systems people, because ultimately, the purpose is to test the security that they have in place - that would be asking the wolf to guard to chicken coop. So I must research this and come to my own conclusions - That is where I am asking for this groups help - this is not anything from the outside of the organization where firewalls are to be accessed, I have the rights to look for the vulnerabilities within the system and make the suggestions to plug them - IE: finding access 24/7 for users that don't need it (that's an easy one) but I need more input! Thanks in advance, M

Are you running penetration testing or general troubleshooting ?

Most security problems are patch related, an unpatched machine is vulnerable to shell execution through buffer overflows and the likes.

Use tools like hfnetcheck or Nikto to scan the network for unpatched and potentially vulnerable machines\servers. You can you use to read up on the patches\holes you have found to see how many exploits have been created\used, and the potential risks involved.

Other security issues are permissions, as an ordinary user see how much you can get access to within the network, no need to try specials tools just have good snoop around, see if you can TS onto any servers, or access HR\Finance shares etc.

For general AD troubleshooting use tools like DCdiag, netdiag, ntfrsutl, ntdsutil, repadmin and repmon.

* Shamelessly mentioning "Don't forget to add reputation!"

Reply ---