Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Join new server in AD

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Join new server in AD

    I have a problem with my AD. Hope anybody can help.

    Recently we build a new server, but that didn't automatically joined in the AD server. I tried to join manually, but it saying duplicate name exists. Since the server is already live, I can't rename the server!

    Any help will be much appreciated.
    Mohan Mathew[VU3MMU]
    MCITP [AD]

  • #2
    Re: Join new server in AD

    What procedure are you following to join the server to the domain?

    What OS is the server running?

    What OS is the DC running?

    Has a computer account been created in AD with the same name as the server?
    Gareth Howells

    BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

    Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

    Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

    "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

    "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Join new server in AD

      Is the server the same name as the domain or an existing workgroup?
      Have you checked WINS and DNS entries?
      cheers
      Andy

      Please read this before you post:


      Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Join new server in AD

        What procedure are you following to join the server to the domain?
        Usually when we create a new server it automatically registered in the corresponding OU.

        What OS is the server running?
        Only Windows 2003 STD

        What OS is the DC running?
        Only Windows 2003 STD

        Has a computer account been created in AD with the same name as the server?
        No it is not created. But When I try to join or add AD saying already a server defined.

        Is the server the same name as the domain or an existing workgroup?
        No it is already in the domain, but not showing when I search in AD!

        Have you checked WINS and DNS entries?
        DNS entries are there. I have verified it.
        Mohan Mathew[VU3MMU]
        MCITP [AD]

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Join new server in AD

          Originally posted by mohanmathew View Post
          Usually when we create a new server it automatically registered in the corresponding OU
          Have you tried manually joining it to the domain since it was installed?

          Has there ever been a server with the same hostname?

          Delete the DNS records pointing to it and try again.

          If necessary, rename the server. You can create CNAME records to point to it with the name that is currently in use - this will have no impact on access.
          Gareth Howells

          BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

          Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

          Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

          "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

          "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Join new server in AD

            Originally posted by gforceindustries View Post
            Have you tried manually joining it to the domain since it was installed?
            Yes, I didn't. Then it saying duplicate name exists!

            Has there ever been a server with the same hostname?
            Not at all

            Delete the DNS records pointing to it and try again.
            This is the only option remaining now. Since the server is already deployed for production, need to schedule for server name change.

            If necessary, rename the server. You can create CNAME records to point to it with the name that is currently in use - this will have no impact on access.
            I wounder why the AD showing a duplicate name instead of adding the server into OU!

            ... thank you soo much dear friends
            Mohan Mathew[VU3MMU]
            MCITP [AD]

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Join new server in AD

              can you upload the screen shot and also put corresponding even id generated in the app logs.
              Thanks & Regards
              v-2nas

              MCTS 2008, MCTIP, MCSE 2003, MCSA+Messaging E2K3, MCP, E2K7
              Sr. Wintel Eng. (Investment Bank)
              Independent IT Consultant and Architect
              Blog: http://www.exchadtech.blogspot.com

              Show your appreciation for my help by giving reputation points

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Join new server in AD

                I have successfully added it. No idea how come that didn't work before.

                Thank You guys for all your suggestions. Have a nice day!
                Mohan Mathew[VU3MMU]
                MCITP [AD]

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Join new server in AD

                  Glad you got it sorted. What method did you use in the end to add it?
                  Gareth Howells

                  BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

                  Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

                  Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

                  "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

                  "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X