Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I did a Dcpromo /forceremoval now the Administrator password does not work.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I did a Dcpromo /forceremoval now the Administrator password does not work.

Hello and thank you for your help. My name is Bertland and i recently finished my undergraduate studies in IT. However i have no formal experience with Windows 2000 server or Active Directory.

Tuesday 18 Nov 2008
    I did a forced DCpromo in the hopes of fixing a few errors i have been getting complaints about ever since i got this job. Things like "The Specified Domain Either Does Not Exist or Could Not Be Contacted"

There is also an issue with the network printer.
    However this i can fix. I have been doing some research and i am still lost when it comes to this error, hence i said i would just start from scratch.

The users at my office cannot log onto their workstations, while some can.
    I feel so lost and stupid i broke a cardinal rule and now i cant get the system up.

So far i have gotten some information from John in regards to the admin password.
    My questions are:
    1: Can the old active directory users and such be recreated NOTE : I did not perform a
    backup before i demoted the server.
    2: Can a guru point me in the right direction via info or links in regards to the text in
    bold italics underlined above.

I just wanna say thanks to u for taking the time to read my long newbie post and big to those who reply and proved useful information thank you.

Ps i may add other things to this as i am a newbie.
    TO DI WERRRRL!!!!!

Re: I did a Dcpromo /forceremoval now the Administrator password does not work.

Do you have any other domain controllers and any more information about your setup?

If that was the last server you are looking at a lot of work.

The error means the domain couldn't be contacted which can have several different sources. DNS problems, local config issues etc.