Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trust not fully working?

Scenario:
    Two Server 2003 domains in the same physical building, no firewall between them.
    Two-way trust in place between them.

I think this is possible, not sure. I have Spiceworks on Domain A w/ LDAP authentication against the same domain. I'd like to be able to log into it with a login from Domain B. Now, if a DC on Domain A gets an authentication request for a user from Domain B (clarified with a FQDN in the request), should it contact Domain B automatically and authenticate it, or is this not possible?
    ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Re: Trust not fully working?

I'm not an expert in trusts but it seems to me that you'd like to impersonate a domainA user with a domainB user account, which is how I think a trust does not work. domainA will trust users from domainB but it will not impersonate users from domainB and vice versa. When you access a resource in domainA with a user from domainB it is the domainB user who is accessing the resource because domainA trusts domainB, not a domainA user on behalf of the domainB user. Also, the application doesn't know who domainb\user is, it only knows who domainA\user is. Does this make sense?

Comment

Not trying to impersonate anything. Just trying to see if it's possible to enter Domain B credentials within an LDAP application on Domain A, and have Domain A confirm them against Domain B's DC via the trust.
      ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

But again, the trust works for accessing resources, not applications. Spiceworks doesn't know who domainB\user is.

Comment

Ignore Spiceworks for now. This is really just about LDAP access. In a trust, can Domain A verify authentication information from Domain B if asked to? From what I've researched, it should do this, but for whatever reason it's not.