Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AD on 2 networks

Hi all,

My question might be a little naive. I'm rather new to Active Directory What would be the best design for 2 networks (located in one building) with 2 DCs. Is it better to have one DC per network or just have both of them on both networks by installing additional network cards. Both networks will be a single domain. Where up time will be important so if one DC is down the other one could serve both networks.

Thanks all.
    Last edited by solvman; 6th October 2008, 15:41.

Re: AD on 2 networks

Hi,

Your answer is very simple but as you'll see you may get a variety of responses depending on certain information on your organisation.
    A little more information might attract better responses such as:
    How big the two subnets are? (I presume they are two different subnets)
    How are these subnets going to be linked physically?
    How is DNS going to be deployed?
    etc..

Ta
    Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR

Comment

Originally posted by L4ndy View Post
      Hi,

Your answer is very simple but as you'll see you may get a variety of responses depending on certain information on your organisation.
      A little more information might attract better responses such as:
      How big the two subnets are? (I presume they are two different subnets)
      How are these subnets going to be linked physically?
      How is DNS going to be deployed?
      etc..

Ta
      They are acctually 2 different networks...they are not linked whatsoever. I have setup on DC on the first network and it does DNS for it (internally). I've got separate external DNS servers.

Regards

Comment

Is there a reason why they aren't linked?
        If you want them completely separate then set them up with their own DCs (2 each though for fault tolerance).
        cheers
        Andy

Please read this before you post: