Upgrading Active Directory, need a little help... please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading Active Directory, need a little help... please

First off, I'm new to this forum, and I signed up here because this site shows up allot in google searches, and this site has helped allot when I'm troubleshooting problems...

So a quick thanks to everyone here, and more thanks to anyone who responds to my issue...

I administer a small network (about 20 servers), and my new task is to fix active directory and upgrade from 2 server 2000 DCs to 2 server 2008 DCs. This is my first time troubleshooting active directory, and I am starting to have a hard time...

I haven't had to touch AD until now, and it turns out that it is very broke...

Sorry for all the background, here is my issues:

DCs:
    servernames: server2000 and s2400
    server2000 is the PDC and holds all the roles
    s2400 is suppose to be just the backup domain controller

Replication has not been happening since 2004, I have been working through all of the events in the event viewer one at a time, and I was able to get replication going from server2000 to s2400 (for a couple of days), I cannot get replication to work from s2400 to server2000!

I think I got ahead of myself because once replication was happening one way I tried to run adprep /forestprep then adprep /domainprep which completed successfully. But I still cannot run dcpromo on the new 08 server (it still saying that I have to run adprep /forest prep.....)

Turns out that replication is no longer happening from server2000 to s2400 now because of a "schema mismatch"

I ran the adprep command because i was hoping that I didn't have to fix all the issues with the 2 current DCs (they are many)

s2400:
    1. ntds kcc event 1265 (access is denied)