AD Design suggestions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AD Design suggestions

I've just landed a position with an international firm (very lucky in this economy) that has offices in Canada, US, Mexico, and Europe.
    While I'm not an expert, I've been asked to audit their Active directory and make suggestions on its current state and recommendations going forward.
    They have OUs for each location with several OU such as desktops, etc -- no laptops. They have domain controllers for some of the larger locations, but not all..
    They current only use AD to deploy updates via WUS and not much else.
    In the past, I've created OUs Users, Groups, Desktops users, Laptops Users and vendors.
    What are some best practices for designing AD? I realize an entire Microsoft Course exists on the topic; I'd like to provide some food for thought while I attend specific training.
    Some other uses could be defining printers, etc.
    Their Email is outsouced.

Thoughts?

Re: AD Design suggestions

Well, it all depends....

Sites, network, amount of users, computers etc.

Where to start?
    View your network. How are the diiferent office connected to each other.
    Is there a need to create sites, etc.
    If you are not that experienced in AD, i woud suggest to hire a consultant.
    A good desing pays itself.
    [Powershell]
    Start-DayDream
    Set-Location Malibu Beach
    Get-Drink
    Lay-Back
    Start-Sleep
    Wake-Up!
    Resume-Service
    Write-Warning
    [/Powershell]

BLOG: Therealshrimp.blogspot.com

Comment

Originally posted by TONYH View Post
      I've just landed a position with an international firm (very lucky in this economy) that has offices in Canada, US, Mexico, and Europe.
      While I'm not an expert, I've been asked to audit their Active directory and make suggestions on its current state and recommendations going forward.