No announcement yet.

Active Directory - Replacement Advice

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Active Directory - Replacement Advice

Hi All,

I'm quite new to AD design and would like some advice on how best to do the below.

Currently my network is setup with 1 server running active directoy / DNS/ DHCP/ file / print etc for around 35 users. I recently took over in the job so it wasn't configured by myself.

What I would like to do is replace this server as its quite out of date. Also the company has changed name so i would like to name the domain to be inline with the company name change.

My initial thought is to redo active directory setup so its a fresh install.

The DC currently serves to authenticate people when they access shares on the server - computers are not joined to the domain at the moment, people simply have local profiles on their machines where the password matches the DC - this allows them to browse shares - permissions groups are configured in AD to allow / disallow access to different shares.

The DC also has IAS RADIUS accounts to allow authentication to CISCO routers / switches / firewalls.

The DC is used for linux authentication.

How should I tackle this? Should I configure the new DC to be a new domain in a new forest but use the existing DC's DNS? then migrate over user accounts and shares, then reconfigure DNS?

I guess my other option would be to configure the new DC / AD, mirroring the existing AD setup inc users / groups / shares / IAS RADIUS details / DHCP then power down the existing DC and bring the new one up?

Sorry for the length of this post, Thanks, R

Re: Active Directory - Replacement Advice

since we are talking about 35 users only and if there are not many share and NTFS permissions to play with I would just build a fresh clean AD 2003 w/SP1 or above and start creating the users there , then join the server to the new domain and assign permissions to those Shares and Folders.