Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DHCP problem

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • DHCP problem

    Greetings,
    I have a windows 2003 server that is a file server on my network. In addition (don't ask) it is the dhcp server for the network. Let's call this machine Joe.

    I have recently converted the network to Active Directory. Today, I joined "Joe" to the Active directory (computer -> properties ->join etc). When it rebooted it complained that a service didn't start. Look at the event log and it appears that DHCP is unhappy.

    I started DHCP management from menu. It said it wasn't authorized in the AD. I followed the steps to try and authorize it, but it generated the error "DHCP Service could not contact Active Direcotry".

    I joined the machine so it evidently could "see" the AD. AD server is running, and authenticated me when I logged in as a domain user.

    Would appreciated any ideas, guidance.

    thanks,
    Darryl

  • #2
    Re: DHCP problem

    check in the server's the DNS suffix and see that the suffix is the DNS name of your domain.
    this could be found in 2 places.
    check them on all your Active NICs.
    1) TCPIP -> settings - > advanced -> DNS tab -> DNS Suffix for this connection
    2) properties of "My computer" -> Computer name -> Change... -> More... -> Primary DNS Suffix for this computer.
    and check that the DNS server settings on the server matches your DNS in your Domain.
    Last edited by Akila; 17th August 2008, 16:55.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: DHCP problem

      Greetings,
      When I look at
      1) TCPIP -> settings - > advanced -> DNS tab -> DNS Suffix for this connection
      I see "append primary and connection specific DNS suffixes" selected and a check box under it checked with "append parent suffixes of primary DNS suffix".

      when I look at
      2) properties of "My computer" -> Computer name -> Change... -> More... ->
      I see check box checked with "change primary DNS suffix when domain membership changes".

      do I need to change anything ?

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: DHCP problem

        Originally posted by ksukat View Post
        Greetings,
        When I look at
        1) TCPIP -> settings - > advanced -> DNS tab -> DNS Suffix for this connection
        I see "append primary and connection specific DNS suffixes" selected and a check box under it checked with "append parent suffixes of primary DNS suffix".

        when I look at
        2) properties of "My computer" -> Computer name -> Change... -> More... ->
        I see check box checked with "change primary DNS suffix when domain membership changes".

        do I need to change anything ?
        No, those settings are fine

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: DHCP problem

          So,
          I joined the 2003 server to the Active Directory. DHCP quit working and said it needed authorized. Tried to authorized and got the error message:

          DHCP Service could not contact Active Directory.

          Why ??????

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: DHCP problem

            bump.

            Anybody have any ideas ?

            thanks.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: DHCP problem

              Can you start the DHCPserver service manualy? (and Stop + Start)

              If still not able to authorize the DHCP server, try to run this command to check if you can connect to the GC from that server:
              Start / Run: CMD /K @dsquery computer FORESTROOT -GC -SAMID %computername%$
              It should return the DN of the server, if it does not, no global catalog server could be found or was unable to contact the CG.

              \Rems
              Last edited by Rems; 22nd August 2008, 22:45.

              This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

              __________________

              ** Remember to give credit where credit's due **
              and leave Reputation Points for meaningful posts

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: DHCP problem - Solution

                Greetings,
                Well, after much searching and reading I came across a tid bit that said you could get this message if you didn't have the right permissions when you try to authorize.

                so, I made sure I logged in as a domain admin (on the machine that has DHCP running) and authorized it. Worked like a champ, no problems. Man, but that error message is misleading. They really should have it say something relevant like "hey dork, you don't have permissions to do that".

                thanks everybody.

                -Darryl

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: DHCP problem

                  Glad you got it sorted Darryl.



                  Quoted from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/303317
                  make sure that you are logged on as a member of the Domain Administrators group for the domain where you want to add the DHCP server, and that you are logged on as a member of the Enterprise Administrators group for the Active Directory Forest.


                  This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

                  __________________

                  ** Remember to give credit where credit's due **
                  and leave Reputation Points for meaningful posts

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X