Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• An Error while trying to demote a windows 2k3 domain controller

Hi ,

I have a win 2K3 server which acts as a Domain Controller in a domain (along with 3 other DCs). This server is neither the operations master, nor the DNS server, nor the DHCP server.

I presume that the Active directory was not installed correctly on this server coz when I try to open AD from administrative tools it shows the following error message:

"Naming Information can not be located for the following reason:
    The server is not operational. "

So I am trying to demote this server from being a DC. But, when I run dcpromo to demote this server, it shows me the following error message:

"The operation failed because:
    Managing the network session with anotherdomaincontrollername.domainname failed.
    A device attached to the system is not working"

I am very new to Active Directory. So, could you kindly suggest me on what I should do?

- Ashok

Re: An Error while trying to demote a windows 2k3 domain controller

Try to Google your error and see what you come up with.

If all fails, use the following command:

Code:
    dcpromo /forceremoval
    Thus turning the server back to being a stand alone server. You will need to manually use NTDSUTIL to clean the AD database from the remains of the failed DC. See my site for an article about that.
    Cheers,

Daniel Petri
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Active Directory Directory Services
    MCSA/E, MCTS, MCITP, MCT

Comment

run on the failed DC from cmd and check log
      Code:
      dcdiag
      I guess this server have TCP/IP misconfiguration or hardware connectivity issue
      With best regards, Victor

Comment

Thanx guyz for the response, but the problem is resolved. Wanted to share the solution with you guyz: