Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Accidental Deletion of OU - Restore?

Morning all!

I'm currently stuck in a bad situation ... Yesterday morning I was deleting an obsolete user from our 'Staff' organizational unit. I was unaware that I must have highlighted or accidentally clicked on the OU folder itself, which after a couple of quick hits of the enter key, was deleted!

On the upside I work in a school and it is the summer holidays - No one is affected - However I have lost approximately 200 people's accounts, which has also affected the Active Directory on our Exchange, so no e-mails either! Therefore I'm a bit worried!

I've been looking through a wealth of information on the net ... I tried using a program called LDP, which flags up the tombstone entries, but I couldn't seem to restore the accounts from their instructions.

I have also tried restoring the system state from a file backup on C:\ following instructions from here: http://www.msd2d.com/newsletter_tip....9-963b854daa25

I then followed their instructions by opening command prompt and typing in:

"ntdsutil
    authoritative restore
    restore subtree <path>
    OK (Authoritative Restore Confirmation Dialog)
    quit
    quit"

No luck so far! Can anyone else give any ideas or point out something that I might be doing incorrect? If so, believe me, it would be much appreciated! I'll owe you several beers!

Thanks!

Kris

Re: Accidental Deletion of OU - Restore?

No backups?
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

No backups ... If there is a way of restoring the OU on a user by user basis, then I am more than happy to do that, no matter how long it takes!

Also, if I try adding new users to rebuild the OU from the beginning, any changes do not seem to be replicated on the Active Directory on our Exchange server - Is there a way I can force the replication?

Comment

Shadow Copy?
        1 1 was a racehorse.
        2 2 was 1 2.