No announcement yet.

Configuring DNS on multiple DCs in a single domain

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Configuring DNS on multiple DCs in a single domain

Hello, this is my first post here at pretri. I have found the FAQs and Instructional information at this site very helpful. I have some questions and figured this would be the best place to get some answers. Here goes...

This is my scenario, I work in a public library which has 18 branches and currently running on a NT4 domain. Both PDC and BDC are located in the central office. Staff members are the only ones joined to the domain. Public PCs are in a workgroup environment. I would like to finally bring the IT department to the 21st century and have them run on a 2003 AD domain. I've had some experiences here and there configuring simple 2k3 domains, but nothing like this. I have an idea of how I would like to set this up.

- First, I want it as simple as possible. One domain, to be shared with both Staff
    and Public. I intend to use GP and the MS Shared toolkit GP template for
    restricting the public users.

- The first DC will be in the central office. DNS will be installed in the DC itself.

- Install DC on all other sites (branches). Will plan to install a copy of the Global
    Catalog on each site's DC.

- Link between sites is via MetroE (10mbs), except for one site that operates at
    500kbs. Internet access and network services are provided by our central
    branch. Cost factors do not allow for each branch to have their own internet