No announcement yet.

Connection problems after DCPROMO [was:Help - problems]

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Connection problems after DCPROMO [was:Help - problems]

I have an AD that is mastered by a windows 2000 server (it is the only AD server).
    Purchased a new server with windows 2003 R2 Server on it. Wanted to move the
    AD from the old server to the new so I could retire the old server. Here is what I did:

1. Updated 2000 server to sp 4.
    2. Stuck the windows 2003 server Cd into the windows 2000 server cdrom drive.
    ran the following:
    (a) adprep /forestprep
    (b) adprep /domainprep
    (c) adprep /domainprep /gpprep
    all successfully ran without error.
    ** 2.5: Ran dcpromo on the windows 2003 server. **
    3. Rebooted 2000 server.
    4. Set the 2003 server as the global catalog (check mark). Unchecked the
    2000 server.
    5. Followed Microsofts instructions (on their website) to move the roles from the
    2000 server to the 2003 server. All commands completed without error.
    ( )
    6. Setup DNS server on the windows 2003 server and configured it like the
    2000 server.

Here is the mess I have now: