Successfully restored 4GB PST

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Successfully restored 4GB PST

I'm still relatively new in my job, and today I discovered that .pst files can't be larger than 2 GB.

Imagine my horror when I discovered a user with a corrupt outlook profile had a .pst archive that was 4GB.

With a sinking feeling in my stomach I decided to try to to restore the .pst anyways (after creating a new profile) and to my surprise it seemed to work!

From my understanding as soon as a .pst file exceeded 2GB for Outlook 2003 / Windows XP the file was corrupt.

Is this completely unprecedented? I thought I was all-but-screwed, but the file seems to have restored properly and I'm currently in the process of making several smaller .pst's from the original.

Has anyone else done this before?

Re: Successfully restored 4GB PST

Hopefully this will answer your questions:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/830336

Comment

Thank you for the link Joe,

So this means that .pst files from an exchange server on Outlook 2003 can be up to 20 GB?

Comment

If the pst file is in Unicode format then yes, but I'd recommend against letting it get that big.

Comment

Thanks Joe,

I've got a user with a pst file thats 9.5 gb! needless to say I'll be asking her to start a new archive file.

We're running Outlook 2003 / Exchange 2003 so I would assume that we're running Unicode. I haven't made any changes to state that it should be ANSI so Unicode is the default mode (i believe).

Comment

If you are running Exchange, then why do you have PST files? Are the clients not setup to use Offline files, .OST ?
            1 1 was a racehorse.
            2 2 was 1 2.
            1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
            2 2 1 1 2

Comment

I'm not sure about the .ost files to be honest.

The people are archiving to reduce server load...at least that's what was set up before I arrived.

Emails are archived and stored on a private shared drive for each user, which we back up nightly.