Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Outlook(home) cant get mail from exchange server (at work)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Outlook(home) cant get mail from exchange server (at work)

Hi all, I'm new to all the exchange thing. I have a server at my work place, with SBS2003, exchange is installed, we have a firewall.

I made a Successful VPN connection to my Server and I can use remote, see folders, workstations and so on. The problem is that I cant connect My own Outlook at HOME to the exchange server at WORK to get my mail.

how can I recive My mail from the exchange or the server or any thing that holds My mail????

HELP!!!! thnx.

p.s. I have admin right, and have all passwords and things i need.

Ensure there are no firewalls blocking RPC connections to your server.

Then ensure you can ping the exchange server by the name you are typing in when setting up outlook.

You could just use OWA which would be easier and quicker, and is setup by default.

http://<servername>/exchange
    * Shamelessly mentioning "Don't forget to add reputation!"

Comment

As topper already said, I have a feeling your name resolution isn't working.

Get into command prompt, ping servername, most likely it will come back claiming that it can't, ping the IP of the server and that will probably work.

If so, just edit your hosts file and put in

server_ip servername

save it and try again.

Most common problem #2 would be the same subnet usage, but since you can access shares/see workstations you're probably fine (although once again I've seen some strange cases where that would work, but exchange wouldn't).

Just for fun, run the ipconfig /all command on your pc at home and see what internal IP scheme you're using (such as 192.168.1.xxx) , if your work uses the same thing your VPN session would connect, but would not let you access any resources on their network

Comment

thnx for all but still its not working