Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Two servers with Hub Transport + Client Acces (Exch 2010)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two servers with Hub Transport + Client Acces (Exch 2010)

Hello,

I am planning the deploymnt of a Exchange 2010 topology from scratch, in my Active Directory.

I have read about it, the pre-requirements, and many other things.

But I don't have clear if I can deploy this topology:

-two servers with the Hub Transport and the client access roles with NLB.

-two servers with the Mailbox role, with DAG to provide redundancy.

As far as I know, the Mailbox role must be separated from the others, if I want to put into place DAG, which I indeed want.

But I am doubtful as to whether or not I can put the two roles (Hub + Client Access) in the same servers, and moreover, to put then in a two-node NLB configuration.

Thanks in advance. I am new to 2010.
    -
    Madrid (Spain).

Re: Two servers with Hub Transport + Client Acces (Exch 2010)

As you say, the MBX role is not compatible with NLB as a DAG uses some clustering functionality

There is no problem putting the CAS/HT roles on servers in an NLB cluster -- IIRC (been a long time) only the CAS role uses the NLB functionality, HT uses shadow transport queues.

Remember that any SSL certificates should be on both CAS servers and you will need some sort of routing to map your public IP to the "up" server
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Wow, that was accurate.

Thanks Ossian! .

I am reading in Microsoft documentation the recommended RAM for the virtual machines...8 GB....Gosh, and my physical machine has 8 GB, but to put into place several virtual machines, not just one.