Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Outlook hangs randomly after realocation of Exchange 2007

Hello Guys,
    At first a couple of information’s regarding my environment.
    Mail server is a 2008 Server with Exchange 2007 latest SP and RU
    Client are Win7 and Vista with Outlook 2007

- Last weekend I shipped our mail server from our office into our data center

- Between our local office network and the local data center network we have a IPSec tunnel held by our firewalls.
    - The Server Subnet moved to firewall in the Datacenter, the client range remained on the office Firewall.
    Since I’m a cool admin everything works like a charm J yet there is one little problem that hits a couple of people: (it pops up in front of Outlook)

The message says: (translated from German) contacting server in order to retrieve informations.

The message comes sporadically when clicking through e-mails, scrolling or right- clicking Meanwhile , of course, nothing works ... so the Outlook window becomes slightly transparent (no feedback appears at the top bar.)

I thought that Exchange/Outlook with cached mode would not do such nonsense but I was taught better
    J

The Interfaces on the firewall are not busy at all - both sides (max. 30% of 10Mbit are used)

The mail server itself has enough hardware performance as it served in the local office without any troubles.

I have already turned off the anti-virus scanner on the client - without success.
    I have checked the subnets and sites in the AD and DNS all clean are clean.

Strange is that this problem only sporadically hits a certain group of users. I by now it seems that these users are in part of the building. So it might be some “buggyness” going on in the office LAN. I would simply like understand more about this problem and why it occurs before I start trying this or that…