Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can send but not receive

Hi.
    im doing a migration from one ms exchange 2007 server to another.

im not an expert on exchange but learning as I go on.

Ive been able to migrate most things. I think the PTR issue I had has been fixed which is great, and there doesnt seem to be any warnings or errors when analysing the headers using mxtoolbox.

now, the problem is I can send emails, but not receive them. I just get a postmaster error and no error messages apart from it failed to send the email

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

Delivery to the following recipients failed.

[email protected]

any ideas why?

Re: can send but not receive

Has the external IP for your MX record changed then? If so, sometimes changes can take a while to propogate.
    Does the firewall point to the new server or old still?

Is the old server going to be removed? What was the reason behind a new server? What roles exist on each server? Does mail route between the internal servers ok?

Comment

you need to give us more of the failure message....

the other possible scenario is you havne't changed the port forward on your router
      Please do show your appreciation to those who assist you by leaving Rep Point https://www.petri.com/forums/core/im.../icon_beer.gif

Comment

Sure guys,

well there is no firewall changes or anything. just using the standard Windows Firewall. I didnt need to configure it either for the old server.

as for the MX records, its been more than 24 hours for sure. So I would have thought its propogated over.

As for the reason for moving the other server, its purely because I wanted to change hosting providers. It was installed in the same way and is just a simple Exchange server, no edge transport or anything.