Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

exchange client settings

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • exchange client settings

    I'm using SBS 2008. I have a domian registered with go daddy. My mx record in the dns for godaddy was setup by the wizard in the server. it is remote.domain.com

    I have used this address as my incoming and outgoing mail but it is not working. Am I doing this right? Outlook anywhere works like a champ. Its outlook 2007/10 that I am trying to setup.

  • #2
    Re: exchange client settings

    Why not use Outlook Anywhere if it works? POP3/SMTP/IMAP are awful protocols. Insecure, too easy to lose email. If you are on Outlook 2003 or higher, then stick with Outlook Anywhere.

    Simon.
    --
    Simon Butler
    Exchange MVP

    Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
    More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
    Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
    In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

    Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: exchange client settings

      No mention of POP/IMAP in the original post.
      I wonder if the OP is confusing Outlook Anywhere (using regular outlook client over the web) with Outlook Web App (the browser based client)
      Tom Jones
      MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
      PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
      IT Trainer / Consultant
      Ossian Ltd
      Scotland

      ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: exchange client settings

        Originally posted by Ossian View Post
        No mention of POP/IMAP in the original post.
        I wonder if the OP is confusing Outlook Anywhere (using regular outlook client over the web) with Outlook Web App (the browser based client)
        I agree, but "I have used this address as my incoming and outgoing mail but it is not working" would tend to point to POP3/IMAP. I can't think of anything else where you would put incoming and outgoing addresses.

        Simon.
        --
        Simon Butler
        Exchange MVP

        Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
        More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
        Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
        In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

        Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: exchange client settings

          Thanks for the response. My end-users do not like owa. They say its not fast enough. OWA works great for me. I let the wizard in sbs 2008 manage my domain on godaddy and I see that it put remote.domain.com as my mx record. Is this also the incoming and outgoing server I use when configuring an outlook 2010 client? The wizard left the other default domain c name aliases in the the dns settings on godaddy alone such as smtp, imap, pop, and mail. The only change it made was the mx record.

          Thanks

          edit: It also added an A record call remote that points to my outside public ip of my network. I forwared ports 25, 110, 443, 1723, 80, and 987 to the internal ip of my server. Again OWA works great, I can send and receive email. I just can't figure what in and out server I need in the outlook client.
          Last edited by Bolivar; 11th March 2011, 18:53. Reason: additional info

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: exchange client settings

            You don't configure Outlook with POP3/SMTP (incoming/outgoing) servers. To use Outlook Anywhere you need to allow autodiscover to do its thing on Outlook 2007 and higher. For Outlook 2003 you need to configure it for RPC over HTTPS manually. This will give you full Exchange functionality remotely.

            The other associated mail records on GoDaddy are now redundant. With the MX record pointing at remote.example.com that is where email will be delivered to.

            Simon.
            --
            Simon Butler
            Exchange MVP

            Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
            More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
            Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
            In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

            Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: exchange client settings

              So I should run outlook on the desktop or laptop while connected to the network and choose exchange instead of pop3 and it should auto discover the exchange server and put all the settings in there that are needed? After this will the laptop folks be able to get email remotely using outlook 2010 or will they have to use OWA in the web browser?

              Thanks

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: exchange client settings

                If everything is setup correctly in SBS, so you ran the wizards to configure things, installed an SSL certificate with the correct name and made the DNS changes it needs, then after Outlook 2007 or higher is configured by autodiscover, it works both inside and outside the network.

                Simon.
                --
                Simon Butler
                Exchange MVP

                Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: exchange client settings

                  Perfect! Thanks for the info. Yes I ran all the wizards. The only thing I had to do manually was open the ports in the router. This is great news.


                  I wasn't able to setup outlook yet because they had not purchased the license for the 15 computers I setup. They are buying the license today then I will remote in and setup each one.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: exchange client settings

                    You can test whether it is working with a test account and the Microsoft test site at http://exrca.com/

                    Simon.
                    --
                    Simon Butler
                    Exchange MVP

                    Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                    More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                    Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                    In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                    Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: exchange client settings

                      Ok it got a little scary but it all worked out. I installed office on all the pc's after they purchased the license. Outlook worked like a champ with no problems. They shipped the laptops to the end-users in California and Colorodo. The next day they blew up my phone because they couldn't check email. It kept asking for password. I was a little nervous as I remoted in to see what was going on.
                      Turns out when you run outlook for the first time off the local network it will ask for permission to use the proxy address to configure email. The address was remote.domain.com. This address was already in outlook as it was setup when I first joined them to the domain using the connect wizard. I checked the box that said dont ask me this again and clicked on yes then put in the user name and password and BAM! everything was fine.
                      Thanks for everyones help!

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X