Exchange 2007 Archive

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exchange 2007 Archive

Hi...Im new to this site as well as to exchange 2007. Im a small business owner and installed a server in my home. is there any way in exchange to archive a users mail box? Im not an IT guy and tried from the users computer and it does not work. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Re: Exchange 2007 Archive

What have you tried on the computer? The normal way is to Export from Outlook to PST file
    You could also check out the export-mailbox cmdlet in the Exchange Management Shell
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

It is actually easier to do from a user's computer than from Exchange. In Outlook go to File-> Import and Export (or Import on the file tab in Outlook 2010), choose Export to a File, Choose Outlook Data File (PST) as the type. Click the User's Name and make sure that the box for include subfolders is checked. Choose a file name and location and then click finish.

Using the Exchange tools is a horrible faff as they need to be installed on a 32-bit machine, so I'd do it from Outlook.
      BSc, MCSA: Server 2008, MCSE, MCSA: Messaging, MCTS
      sigpic
      Cruachan's Blog

Comment

Hi guys...thanks...again im real new to all this.....so can i ask a basic/stupid question.....when the users account was made on exchange 2007 the pst on the local computer was imported into exchange....my question is what use/purpose does the pst on the local computer then have....nothing.....

and so you are telling to export from the users computer to a file location on the network...is this correct....again sorry im just trying to get the understanding on how this works...