Can't send e-mail to newly created contacts in Exchange 07

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't send e-mail to newly created contacts in Exchange 07

I have a list of 4500+ contacts that I've been importing into AD/Exchange using CSVDE for the last 5 years so my users can get our contacts in Outlook without accessing our database. About 6 months ago I upgraded to Exchange 07 and now want to use powershell to import from csv. I have a script that imports the contacts and they display in AD and Exchange with the proper SMTP address and it is also set to the Primary address as well. I've set the script to disable the address policy so these external contacts aren't given addresses in our domain too.

However when I attempt to send an e-mail from outlook to these new contacts imported with Powershell I get a bounce that starts with this:
    IMCEAEX-_O=NT5_ou=95730a2602ff4f45be376297424d291d_cn=339d [email protected]
    #550 5.1.1 RESOLVER.ADR.ExRecipNotFound; not found ##

If I manually enter the contact using Exchange Console, I get the same undeliverable behavior for the new contacts.

If I send to the same contact from OWA, the message doesn't bounce and is delivered. If I go back and create the contact with CSVDE, it works from Outlook and OWA.

Any suggestions or ideas to help troubleshoot and solve this problem?

Re: Can't send e-mail to newly created contacts in Exchange 07

Hi,

can you check the target address on the contacts and verify legacyExchangeDN (use adsiedit) attribute on the contacts
    Thanks & Regards
    v-2nas

MCTS 2008, MCTIP, MCSE 2003, MCSA+Messaging E2K3, MCP, E2K7
    Sr. Wintel Eng. (Investment Bank)
    Independent IT Consultant and Architect
    Blog: http://www.exchadtech.blogspot.com

Show your appreciation for my help by giving reputation points

Comment