removing exchange 2010 - need to keep mail attribute

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• removing exchange 2010 - need to keep mail attribute

Long story short, we moved to Google Apps last summer. Kept exchange up for awhile just to cover ourselves. Now we're at the point where we want to free up the VM host resources. I've never done this before but from what I read I just need to remove all the user mailboxes, and including the arbitration mailboxes and then just uninstall from control panel. That's not the part I'm concerned about though.
    I've been doing some testing with disabling the accounts (because we still need the user objects in AD of course) but it also removes the mail attribute which is actually what GADS (Google apps directory sync) uses to pull in our users for their mailboxes on that side of things.
    Is it possible to do this without any down time? I understand I can export the mail attribute from my users and re-add them after the fact, but I would like to avoid anytime account downtime/disables on the google side if possible.
    Thanks for any insight!

I think if you convert your mailboxes to mail enabled users, you can then uninstall and still maintain the attribute.

Something like this:

Code:
    $mbxs = Get-Mailbox testuser

foreach ($mbx in $mbxs) {
        Disable-Mailbox -Id $mbx.Identity -Confirm:$False
        Enable-MailUser -Id $mbx.Identity -ExternalEmailAddress $($mbx.primarysmtpaddress)
        Set-MailUser -Id $mbx.Identity -EmailAddresses $mbx.emailaddresses
         }
    testuser is the name of a test account. Be sure to test this because I have not!

Once you verify it converts the user properly, you can then run this to convert all the mailboxes:

Code:
    $mbxs = Get-Mailbox

foreach ($mbx in $mbxs) {
        Disable-Mailbox -Id $mbx.Identity -Confirm:$False
        Enable-MailUser -Id $mbx.Identity -ExternalEmailAddress $($mbx.primarysmtpaddress)