No announcement yet.

Creating the Recovery RDB in Exchange 2010

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Creating the Recovery RDB in Exchange 2010

Hi all,

First let me thank to all those who decide to help really appreciated.

Ok I am running Exchange 2010 on server 2008R2.
    We moved from Domino to Exchange 2010 about 3 weeks ago and I am totally new to Exchange.

I need to restore a user’s mail box. Of course in domino I will be restoring the file from the backup and that is all a 1 min job. Exchange works in a different way, anyway when I started the process of restoring the user mail box I realised how different it is to Domino and realised that the consultant (more likely swear swear) that installed Exchange 2010 didn't create the Recovery DB – RDB or any other scheduling for backup. I did a search and according to Microsoft "" I have used the New-Mailboxdatabase -Name RDB2 -Server servername -EdbfilePath "path" to create a RDB2 so going forward I will be able to restore a mailbox.
    Like any good boy i decided to test and see if I can the problem is that there is no RDB2 I can see the folder structure but there is no DB.

Am I doing something wrong?
    Can anyone help?

Again thank you for your help.

Re: Creating the Recovery RDB in Exchange 2010

Your new-mailboxdatabase command line is missing the option "-recovery" so you mostlikely created a simple new mailbox database and not a recovery database.

The full command would be something like

New-MailboxDatabase -Recovery -Name RDB2 -Server MBX1 -EdbFilePath "C:\Recovery\RDB2\RDB2.EDB" -LogFolderPath "C:\Recovery\RDB2"

The file will be created once the restore of the databse using your backup/restore software is done.

After that following the information given by your link should be possible again.

Hi FischFra,

Thanks for that.

When I create the first time I didn't see anything in the folder because I didn't mount the database, as I said really new to exchange.