No announcement yet.

Exchange might no be the future, instant messaging could be

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exchange might no be the future, instant messaging could be

I don't know whether this is the right place for me to throw an opinion.

I was just studying Exchange online, and before I had studied Lync, so this thought came into my mind:

Maybe within a few years, people won't use email anymore but "Facebook-like instant messaging", so to speak, which is Lync or even Yammer (in Sharepoint online).

Maybe emails will become a thing of the past and people will talk through Lync, or through Skype (which now belongs to Microsoft), a far more quicker way to communicate.

Maybe that will be the trend, and I am kind of obsseded with understanding all Exchange, and by the time I am an expert in Exchange, it will be of no much use anymore, hehe, oh my.

Sorry if opinions are not allowed in this section of the forum. I will delete it if so.
    Madrid (Spain).

This might be moved to the Coffee Lounge or Misc depending on the way it goes.....

IMHO both systems have a place, just as telephones did not replace letters. Email is more akin to letter writing, so has a measure of permanence, where IM is more like texts (or calls).
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **