Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DAG member in a site without DC

Hello,

I am studying the DAG feature in Exchange 2010.

I was wondering: Could I set up a member in a site (Active Directory Site) with no domain controllers?

I don't see it as a requirement, but I think you needed it in the Exchange 2007 Cluster continous replication.

Thanks in advance.
    -
    Madrid (Spain).

Without checking the requirments, I'd be astounded if a DC isn't required. Firstly, access to a GC is a requirement for all versions of Exchange to start. Secondly, if you're implementing a DAG then HA/DR is at least a factor, if not the ultimate goal of having the DAG and so again a local DC is a must.

Even if it wasn't a requirement (and I'm 100% certain that it is) the cost of Exchange licenses to implement a DAG makes the cost of another Windows Server license for a DC pretty much insignificant, particularly if you are virtualising.
    BSc, MCSA: Server 2008, MCSE, MCSA: Messaging, MCTS
    sigpic
    Cruachan's Blog

Comment

Thanks Cruachan for your help.

You wrote: "...Firstly, access to a GC is a requirement for all versions of Exchange to start..."

But, as far as I know, any computer can access to another site's global catalog server as long as there is a reliable wan link.

Also, quoting from you: "... Secondly, if you're implementing a DAG then HA/DR is at least a factor, if not the ultimate goal of having the DAG and so again a local DC is a must..."

I am not an expert whatsoever but I don't see the link between High availability/Distaer Recovery (HA/DR) and having a local DC in that site. I mean, I could have two domain controllers in the main site, for instance...I think.

Thanks a lot!
      -
      Madrid (Spain).

Comment

But while there may not be a strict requirement for a local DC, HA involves planning for all sorts of disasters, so if your link to the main site goes down, does it matter how many DCs are there if the DR site can't reach them?